Prizes of the Foundation for Polish Science 2015 Jakub Ostałowski

Prizes of the Foundation for Polish Science 2015


Three scientists from the Polish Academy of Sciences, Prof. Stanisław Penczek, Prof. Kazimierz Rzążewski i prof. Jerzy Jedlicki received this year the Prizes of the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP), called the Polish Nobel prizes


The scientists were honoured for particular achievements and scientific discoveries opening new perspectives and contributing to the progress of civilization and culture in Poland.


Prof. Stanisław Penczek from the Center for Molecular and Macromolecular Studies of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Lodz received the FNP Prize 2015 in chemistry for the theory of ring-opening polymerisation and its application to the synthesis of biodegradable polymers.


Prof. Kazimierz Rzążewski from the Centre for Theoretical Physics of the Polish Academy of Sciences received the FNP Prize 2015 in the field of mathematical, physical and engineering sciences for discovery of the phenomenon of magnetostriction in ultra-cold gases with dipole forces.


Prof. Jerzy Jedlicki from the Tadeusz Manteuffel Institute of History of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw received the FNP Prize 2015 in the field of the humanities and social sciences for fundamental studies on the phenomenon of the intelligentsia as a social stratum and its role in modernization processes in Central & Eastern Europe.


Prize was not awarded in the field of life and earth sciences.


Candidates for the FNP Prize, in accordance with the regulations, may be proposed by leading scientists invited personally by the Foundation’s Board and Council. The role of the competition committee is fulfilled by the Foundation Council which chooses the winners on the basis of opinions from independent reviewers and experts evaluating the candidates’ achievements. In the current term the Council comprises professors Andrzej Jerzmanowski (Faculty of Biology at the University of Warsaw, Institute of Biochemistry and Biophysics of the Polish Academy of Sciences) – chair, Irena E. Kotowska (Institute of Statistics and Demography at the Warsaw School of Economics) – vice chair, Leon Gradoń (Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering at the Warsaw University of Technology), Henryk Koroniak (Faculty of Chemistry at Adam Mickiewicz University), Marek Świtoński (Department of Animal Genetics and Breeding at the Poznań University of Life Sciences), Wojciech Tygielski (Institute of Art History, Faculty of History at the University of Warsaw), Karol I. Wysokiński (Condensed Phase Theory Department at Maria Curie-Skłodowska University).


The Foundation for Polish Science Prize has been awarded since 1992 to a total of 87 winners, including this year’s recipients. The prizes are awarded in four fields: life and earth sciences, chemical and materials sciences, mathematical, physical and engineering sciences, and the humanities and social sciences. The Awards ceremony will be held on 2 December 2015 at the Royal Castle in Warsaw.



Source: Foundation for Polish Science






Rate this item
(0 votes)


It is a scientific website run by the Polish Academy of Sciences` „Academia” magazine editorial staff.Academia We invite you to send us information on your research, your scientific projects being currently carried out and any events that aim at propagating science.


For users: Terms of Use

Use of Cookies

We use cookies to personalize and maximize your online experience, to collect statistical information, show ads and make some parts of the website function more effectively. Cookies are text files that are placed on your hard drive by a web page server. By using our websites you accept all cookies according to the present browser setting.

For more information on use of cookies and how to modify your browser setting to decline all cookies if you prefer, click HERE

Digital Edition


  • Send us a letter

    Redakcja serwisu online
    Academia. Magazyn Polskiej Akademii Nauk
    PKiN, pl. Defilad 1, pok. 2110
    (XXI piętro)
    00-901 Warszawa, Poland

  • E-mail: